Golshiri Awards on Pause

After 13 controversial rounds, the private-section Golshiri Award is stopped. The coordinators hope that by pausing the current system of annual award-granting, they can direct their limited budget towards improving the Golshiri Foundation’s website (here).

In a public letter published on July 23, 2014, the directors of Golshiri Foundation have offered no particular reason for such a decision but have explained that the difficult task of granting annual awards has slightly diverted them from their initial purposes.

Founded in 2001 by literary figures such as Simin Daneshvar, Ali-Ashraf Darvishian, Mahmoud Dowlatabadi, Simin Behbahani, Bahman Farman-ara and Golshiri’s wife Farzaneh Taheri, the Foundation sought to grant an annual Golshiri award to best works of fiction and literary criticism, hold story writing workshops, launch a publishing house, and help publish works by promising novice writers. Out of all these purposes, the foundation only managed, in spite of difficulties, to hold 13 editions of the award.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.